The history was begun when president of public universities and institutes from all over Indonesia met in Jakarta in December 1962. Minister of Higher Education and Science Republic of Indonesia, Prof. Dr. Ir. Hadiwidjaya, gave instruction to conduct the decree released by National Board (MPRS) which was to increase the number of B faculty (exact faculties) than A faculty (non-exact faculties) in every public university. In this case, Hasanuddin University was also asked to develop the appropriate faculties. President of Hasanuddin University, Prof. Dr. Arnold Mononutu, discussed the minister instruction in a meeting with dean of faculties, advisory board and some experts both from outside and inside Hasanuddin University. In a meeting held on March 11, 1963, there was an agreement to found the new faculties. A committee which was called as Preparatory Committee for Establishment of B Faculties Hasanuddin University led by Andi Pangerang Pettarani was formed to perform faculty development. The committee was equipped by three sub-committees, each of them was for developing natural science faculty, faculty of forestry and faculty of dentistry. The leader of sub-committee for natural science faculty was Ir. Aminuddin Ressang and the members were Drs. Anwar Djamadin, Drs. I. G. N. Agung dan Ramli Tjambari Sakka, BE.

A letter dated August 8, 1963, with number 59/BM/PTIP/63 signed by Minister of Higher Education and and Science stated that government agreed in terms of formation of natural sciences faculty of Hasanuddin University. Based on that letter, the committee had elected the faculty’s leader by electing Prof. Arnold Mononutu as dean, Ir. Aminuddin Ressang, Abdul Rahman Djae and Drs. Sartuni as vice deans. According to letter from Minister of Higher Education and Sciences number 102 released in August 17, 1963, the inauguration of natural sciences faculty of Hasanuddin University was legally run.

This new faculty (FIPPA) had 5 departments. One of them was department of pharmacy. Therefore, pharmacy education in Hasanuddin University was legally strated on August 17, 1963. The first student generation consisted of 110 students from 145 candidates. At the beginning, department of pharmacy accepted assistances from other faculties in the university. They were faculty of technology, medical faculty and faculty of agriculture. In addition to this, department of pharmacy was also assisted by several universities located in Java.

Some obstacles experienced by the early leaders of this faculty was about the capability of lecturers and facilities. To overcome this problem, the leaders of this department offered scholarship to pharmacy students  several pharmacy institutions, especially from Gadjah Mada University.

In the era of Rector Prof. Dr. A. Amiruddin, via decree of Minister of Education and Culture with letter number 0266/Q/1977 signed on July 16, 1977, FIPPA and faculty of technology were merged into one faculty called faculty of science and technology. Six years later, in 1983, this faculty was divided into two other faculties. They were faculty of mathematics and natural sciences and faculty of technology. Department of pharmacy was in faculty of mathematics and natural sciences along with departments of mathematics, chemistry, biology and physics.

The presence of pharmacy as one of the departments in the faculty, generated incompatibility feeling after years because of the change in pharmaceutical care that had been growing so that making the graduates had to have better quality. Based on this situation, the team which was in charge of preparing the status change from department to faculty of pharmacy was formed. This team had made three revisions on the proposal to adapt with growing and need. In January 11, 2007, department of pharmacy was regally changed its status into faculty of pharmacy. This change was accepted by Director of Higher Education (DIKTI) Directorate, Ministry of National Education. Based on senate decree, rector of Hasanuddin University, Prof. Dr. dr. Idrus A. Patturusi, decided the formation of faculty of pharmacy by signing letter with number 441/H4/O/2007 dated March 14, 2007. The inauguration ceremony of faculty of pharmacy was performed on November 14, 2007.

The initial leaders (2007 – 2011) of Faculty of Pharmacy Hasanuddin University were:

Dean                : Prof. Dr. Elly Wahyudin, DEA., Apt

Vice dean I     : Dr. rer. nat. Marianti A. Manggau, Apt

Vice dean II   : Drs. Syaharuddin Kasim, M.Si., Apt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

18 − 10 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.